Comparison
Gumroad fees in 2026, and what you actually keep per sale
Gumroad charges no subscription but takes 10% + $0.50 on every sale, and 30% when the buyer comes from its Discover marketplace. In exchange, it handles sales tax for you. The right alternative depends on what you sell and where your buyers are: Payhip for the same model without an announced fixed fee, Stan Store for a subscription link-in-bio page, Novoca if you sell from TikTok with a French bank account and want the sales page written for you.
This page doesn’t redo the eight-platform fee comparison: it looks at Gumroad sale by sale — what it leaves you at each price — with pricing surveyed on September 28, 2026 from each vendor’s own page, links under every table.
· By Hugo Cossa, Novoca’s publisher
€0/month. Novoca only earns when you sell.
Payouts currently require a French bank account.
What Gumroad takes on a sale
Gumroad’s model fits in one line: no subscription, 10% + $0.50 per sale. Nothing until you sell — which is why it became popular with creators who are just starting.
Two details change the bill. First, a sale that comes through Discover, Gumroad’s marketplace, costs 30%: the exposure it brings is paid for at a premium. Second, the $0.50 fixed part doesn’t depend on the price: on a $9 product it alone weighs 5.6% of the price, on top of the 10%. The smaller your product, the more Gumroad costs in proportion.
Finally, its pricing page doesn’t say whether payment processing (card, PayPal) is included in those amounts. The figures below are therefore upper bounds on what you keep, never promises.
What you keep per sale, price by price
The same sticker price, sold once on each platform. Gumroad and Payhip show their pricing in dollars, Novoca in euros: each column is in the vendor’s own currency, with no conversion.
| Sale price | Gumroad (direct link) | Gumroad (Discover sale) | Payhip (free plan) | Novoca (free plan) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 | ≤ $7.60 | ≤ $6.30 | ≈ $7.99 | €7.71 |
| 19 | ≤ $16.60 | ≤ $13.30 | ≈ $17.20 | €16.56 |
| 29 | ≤ $25.60 | ≤ $20.30 | ≈ $26.41 | €25.41 |
| 49 | ≤ $43.60 | ≤ $34.30 | ≈ $44.83 | €43.11 |
How to read it: Novoca’s commission and Gumroad’s are the same rate, and the difference is in the fixed part — 1.5% + €0.25 of card fees on one side, $0.50 plus unannounced processing on the other. For your own price, the “What you actually keep” calculator does the Novoca math to the cent, over a month of sales.
What Gumroad’s tax handling pays for
Since 2025, Gumroad has been the Merchant of Record: it invoices the buyer, collects the tax of the buyer’s country and remits it. For a seller shipping across borders without a company, that’s a genuine administrative load off — and part of what its 10% pays for.
Novoca works differently, and it’s worth knowing before you compare rates: the buyer’s payment is collected through Stripe by Novoca, which then transfers your share to your account. You remain the seller of your product, responsible for your own tax obligations.
Gumroad, Payhip, Stan Store, Novoca: the surveyed pricing
| Platform | Subscription / month | Commission | Processing fees | What the vendor advertises | How the money reaches you |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gumroad | none | 10% + $0.50 (30% via Discover) | not stated on the pricing page | product page, Discover marketplace, VAT handled (Merchant of Record) | bank transfer or PayPal, “depending on the country” — not verified for France |
| Payhip | Plus $29 → 2% · Pro $99 → 0% | 5% on the free plan | on top (PayPal/Stripe) | store, downloads, email, courses, VAT handling — every feature on every plan | paid out at the time of sale via PayPal or Stripe — countries not stated |
| Stan Store | Creator $29 · Creator Pro $99 | 0% | on top (Stripe 2.9% + $0.30 in the US, or PayPal) | link-in-bio store, courses, bookings; email, upsells and pixels on Creator Pro | Stripe account created by Stan — France is on the country list |
| Novoca | Pro €29/month → 0% | 10% on the free plan | on top (Stripe, 1.5% + €0.25) | sales page written for you, automated email delivery, online reader; the product itself as an option (guide, checklist, program, prompts, scripts) | French bank account only (Stripe, in euros) |
Stan Store is the opposite model: $29 a month on Creator, 0% commission, no free plan (14-day trial). It pays off once your monthly revenue is high enough for the subscription to cost less than a commission — the division is worked out in the platform fee comparison.
When Gumroad is still the better pick
This page is published by Novoca, which appears in its own tables. All the more reason to say plainly where Gumroad does better — in these cases, stay on Gumroad.
1 You don’t have a French bank account
Payouts currently require a French bank account: the Stripe account is created in France, and sales are settled in euros. Gumroad announces payouts by bank transfer or PayPal depending on the country.2 You sell a lot across borders
Having sales tax handled for you, country by country, is worth part of the commission. Novoca doesn’t collect tax on your behalf.3 You count on Discover to find buyers
Novoca has no marketplace: your buyers come from your own audience. Discover brings traffic — at 30% on every sale it sends.4 You sell a catalog of products
A Novoca storefront carries one main product, plus an order bump at checkout and an optional member subscription — not a catalog.5 Your buyers pay in dollars, or with PayPal
Novoca sells in euros, by card through Stripe, with no PayPal.
When Novoca is the better alternative
Novoca answers a different situation: you’re a TikTok creator with a French bank account, people already ask you for something — a file, a method, a program — and what’s stopping you isn’t the commission, it’s the empty page.
1 The sales page is written for you
On Gumroad, the title, hook, description and FAQ are yours to write. Novoca drafts them from your profile, and you edit before publishing.2 The product too, if you don’t have one
Upload your file (up to 50 MB) and it sells as is — or Novoca writes a first version (guide, checklist, program, prompts, scripts) that you review and sign off.3 Nothing until you sell
€0/month, 10% per sale + Stripe’s fee (1.5% + €0.25), or Pro at €29/month at 0%. You can sell before activating Stripe: the platform collects and pays out once your bank account is connected, up to 3 sales or €150 pending.4 Delivery and reading
The buyer gets the product by email right after paying, and can read it in an online reader.
So which one?
1 You sell internationally, or without a French bank: Gumroad
Tax handling and payouts outside France are worth its commission. If the fixed fee hurts on a small price, Payhip keeps the same model with no announced fixed fee.2 You sell from TikTok, with a French bank account, and no page yet: Novoca
The same commission rate as Gumroad (10%), card fees stated to the cent (1.5% + €0.25), and the page written for you. Publish, sell once: you’ll know fast whether your audience buys.3 You already sell a lot every month: a 0% subscription
Above €290 of monthly sales, Novoca Pro (€29) costs less than the commission; Stan Store and Payhip’s paid plans play the same card, in dollars.
Free tool
What to sell on TikTok?
3 product ideas for your niche and your audience, with the price to sell them at.
Price calculator
What to charge for your digital product — the range the Studio will pick from.
What you actually keep
What the buyer pays, what Stripe takes, what Novoca keeps, what lands in your account.
Common questions about Gumroad and its alternatives.
How much does Gumroad take per sale?
10% of the price plus $0.50 per sale, with no subscription — and 30% when the buyer comes through Discover, its marketplace. Its pricing page, surveyed on September 28, 2026, doesn’t say whether payment processing is included, so what you keep is at most the price minus those amounts.
Does Gumroad handle VAT and sales tax?
Yes: Gumroad has been the Merchant of Record since 2025. It invoices the buyer, then collects and remits the tax of the buyer’s country — a real load off if you sell across borders, and part of what its commission pays for. On Novoca you remain the seller of your product, so your tax obligations stay yours; ask an accountant in your country.
Can anyone get paid by Novoca?
No — and it’s the first thing to check. Payouts currently require a French bank account: the Stripe account is created in France, and sales are settled in euros. Gumroad’s pricing page announces payouts by bank transfer or PayPal depending on the country.
Gumroad or Novoca: which one costs less?
Per sale, Novoca takes 10% plus Stripe’s fee (1.5% + €0.25); Gumroad 10% + $0.50, without saying whether processing is included. The price-by-price table on this page does the math. Above €290 of monthly sales, Novoca Pro (€29/month, 0% commission) costs less than the commission.
What about Payhip?
Payhip takes 5% on its free plan, 2% at $29/month and 0% at $99/month, with PayPal or Stripe fees on top. Its pricing page announces no fixed fee per sale: it’s the closest alternative to Gumroad’s model — a product page you write yourself.
Read next
By niche
You didn’t need more followers. You needed a way to monetize them.
The one place where your audience becomes your business.